A Quick One

by

No photos, sadly, but it’s not a very impressive-looking dish. Last night I threw together an eggplant-chickpea stew, which turned out quite well and (most importantly) cost about $5 for what looks like a week’s worth of office lunches. I modified a recipe I found online, and in about 60 minutes the stew was finished and the washing-up was done. That’s a record for me, folks, since I’m known for my tortoise-like speed in the kitchen.

Here’s what I used:

1 large (about 1.25lbs) eggplant, cubed

1 large onion, chopped

garlic to taste, chopped

1tsp each cinnamon and cayenne pepper

2tsp garam masala

1 can (or equivalent) chickpeas

1 28 oz can diced tomatoes

1.5 cups veg. broth

Saute the onion, garlic, and spices together in some olive oil until the onion is softened/translucent. Add eggplant, chickpeas, tomatoes, and broth, and let the pot go for about 30 minutes (or to your desired level of done-ness). For a thicker stew, which I like, let it cook uncovered for the last 5-10 minutes (take care that the bottom doesn’t scorch). That’s it. Lovely with some couscous and feta cheese.

Leave a Reply

