Cold Eggplant Salad, Indonesian Riff

by

Cold eggplant salad

When I saw this recipe on Bitten, I knew I had to try it: I love eggplant, and now is the time for savory cold salads. But when I started making it up today, my eggplant all cubed and salted and draining, I realized I’d made all the soy sauce in the house up into kecap manis a few weeks before. Since Bittman’s recipe called for both soy and sugar, I substituted 2 tbsp of kecap manis for the soy, skipped the sugar and mixed in 2 tbsp of lemon juice for the dressing. Instead of just white sesame seeds, I used a mix of 2/3 white and 1/3 black dry toasted and because I really like the toasted sesame flavor, I added a few drops of toasted sesame oil to the dressing as well.

First taste says “Oh my YES, will make this again!”

jaq

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Cold Eggplant Salad, Indonesian Riff”

  1. LP Says:

    Good call on the kecap. It’s a great substitute it for soy sauce, as long as the dish can take a bit more sweetness. I’m not as brave as you, though – mine always comes from the grocery store!

  2. Jaq Says:

    I love the syrupy quality of the kecap too. Even thinned with lemon or lime juice, it makes a glossy clingy sauce. I’ve got to buy some store-bought though, to see how my homemade stuff compares!

  3. boxofbirds Says:

    oh, since you love eggplant I bet you have a good recipe for eggplant Parmesan then??? I’ve never been completely satisfied with the recipes I’ve tried.

  4. Jaq Says:

    I have to admit, I’ve never thought about making eggplant Parmesan – it’s something I’ve only had at restaurants (and occasionally from Trader Joe’s). Like lasagna or other big casserole kinds of things, it seems an awful lot of effort for 2 people (possibly a false justification here). Also, Mr. Jaq does not like eggplant (except as baba ganoush apparently), so it would just be me eating all the leftovers.

Leave a Reply

