Experiment #45

by

Yes, you can use Trader Joe’s Minty Hot Chocolate mix instead of sugar in your butter cookie recipe. But you might want to add a little extra mix, or maybe a little bit more sugar. I like unsweet cookies as much as the next person, or really probably much more, but there was something a little off about the unsweet chocolate mint cookies. Although everyone else liked it well enough. Perhaps it is my dislike of chocolate showing through again (see also: why I am trying to come up with things to do with this minty hot chocolate mix).

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Experiment #45”

  1. Jaq Says:

    Mint chocolate is problematic. I don’t especially like the combination, though an occasional hot chocolate w/ peppermint schnapps can be nice. What else can be done with the mix though? Heat it up with heavy cream and some additional sugar and a bit of salt and perhaps some vanilla and freeze into ice cream. Or whip the chilled mixture into peaks and freeze for more of a mousse. Or serve the whipped mixture as topping for something (plain shortbread? white cake? I can’t imagine it with fruit or berries.) Make ganache, form into balls and roll in the dry mix to make truffles.

  2. Jaq Says:

    After thinking about this most of the day, I have to admit none of those ideas has much appeal (probably because there would still be some minty chocolate thing that would need eating). Package the remaining mix up in some decorative mugs, tie them with ribbon, and give them away.

  3. Chris Says:

    It’s not really the mint chocolate-iness that bothers me, but the chocolate part of that, but actually the reason I didn’t just drink the mint hot chocolate, which appealed to me as a concept (I also like the peppermint-schnapps-spiked hot chocolate) was that the recipe on the package turned out to be far too milky. I could just make it with water, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

